Clouds of Witness by Dorothy L. Sayers (Lord Peter Wimsey #2)

192888Rustic old Riddlesdale Lodge was a Wimsey family retreat filled with country pleasures and the thrill of the hunt – until the game turned up human and quite dead. He lay among the chrysanthemums, wore slippers and a dinner jacket and was Lord Peter’s brother-in-law-to-be. His accused murderer was Wimsey’s own brother, and if murder set all in the family wasn’t enough to boggle the unflappable Lord Wimsey, perhaps a few twists of fate would be – a mysterious vanishing midnight letter from Egypt … a grieving fiancée with suitcase in hand … and a bullet destined for one very special Wimsey.

Review:

I loved the first Peter Wimsey book, Whose Body?, and have been doing my best not to blast through the entire series.  I’m saving them for when I need a fun, thinking, comfort read and Clouds of Witness delivers.

This time I went with the audiobook and I have a much better grasp of the characters now that I’ve heard them.  It must be hard to do British narration, having to take into account geographical accents as well as those of class, and Ian Carmichael does a great job.   The scene with a drunk Wimsey is pure gold that left me giggling.

The mystery itself kept me interested and guessing… the latter isn’t a high bar considering this is me, but hey.  I enjoyed the twists as well as the meta comments Sayers puts in here and there.

Here’s the thing, though – I don’t know if I want to continue the series in print, which shows off the writing, or on audiobook, where the characters come to life.  Have you read the Peter Wimsey series?  Do you prefer audio or print?

2 thoughts on “Clouds of Witness by Dorothy L. Sayers (Lord Peter Wimsey #2)

  1. I re-read a lot of the Wimsey novels a couple of years ago when I was taking a course looking at the way in which they reflected the society of the time. I read them initially either as a teenager or in my early twenties and I found that some hadn’t stood the test of time. My favourites are the later ones in the series, especially ‘Gaudy Night’ but that may be because of the University setting; I am comfortable there. I haven’t tried them as an audiobook, but I do enjoy that medium as long as the narrator is right for the text. If you’ve found a good one then I would stick with it. If you get the chance see the DVDs of the television versions with Edward Petherbridge as Wimsey. He was perfect casting.

    1. Glad to hear that the series gets better as it goes – I’ve heard so many good things about Gaudy Night and can’t wait to reach it. I’ll be keeping my eye out for the Edward Petherbridge version, it sounds great!

Leave a Reply

