Until Tomorrow by Annie Kelly (Flirting with Trouble #2)

Synopsis:

27282629Carson Tucker only has one thing on her mind: getting her life back on track and pursuing her teaching career. She can’t afford to be distracted, yet no amount of good sense can compel her keep her mind—or eyes—off the brooding and mysterious Wyatt Sands. She agreed to be his tutor and help him finish his degree, but now she’s wishing she could inspire him in more ways than one…

He makes her want to break all the rules…

Still reeling from the tragic accident that took his best friend’s life and left him wheelchair-bound, all Wyatt Sands wants to do is forge ahead without any attachments. His solitary lifestyle works well until the after-hours sessions between him and his tutor turn hot and steamy. As the chemistry between them fuels a passion that is too electrifying to be denied, will Carson be able to break down the barriers that Wyatt has erected around himself—or will their fiery passion burn them both?

Review:

Like many romance readers I have trope catnip (marriage of convenience!  a bantering couple!) and trope poison (secret babies, Navy SEALs).  Until Tomorrow has none of my catnip… but none of my poison, either.  I was going to pass it by until I saw that Wyatt is in a wheelchair.  A hero that’s disabled, the rarest of the rare!  I’ll have some of that, please.

“But wait”, I can hear you say, “isn’t that guy on the cover standing?”

Um… yes.  Wyatt is only in the chair temporarily while on his road to recovery – disabled, but only for now.  You can get a feel for that from the synopsis, and it’s fine, but I’m still keeping my eyes peeled for romances featuring people with chronic disabilities.

The hero’s experience recovering from an awful car crash rang true for me, though admittedly I have little experience to draw on.  There’s a bit of “how to talk to a guy in a wheelchair” (hint: he’s just like any other person) which can act as a diversity 101 course for the uninitiated.  It’s nice to see everyday difficulties like trying to wheel through a crowded room or fitting a wheelchair in your trunk.

But let’s not get sidetracked – first and foremost this is a romance and woah is Carson and Wyatt’s first meeting hot.  They have a chemistry that develops into something deeper over time.  Each has demons, he of the tortured hero sort and she of the family sort.  Both deal with their issues in a mature manner, earning bonus points from me.  People smart enough to talk to each other, and to entertain their friends’ advice?  Realistic and awesome.

My quibbles are in the details.  Wyatt needs three classes to graduate but I count at least six wildly different subjects mentioned.  Early in the book Carson just wants to be left alone so she can watch Real Housewives, but later she finds her friends “watching one of the half dozen Real Housewife franchises they insist on following like weird reality TV groupies”.  It’s odd for someone that likes the show themselves.

Stuff like this takes me right out of the story, sending me hunting through the text to see if I missed something.  All in all, though, it’s an enjoyable read that provides a welcome perspective not often seen in romance.  Time to hunt down another disabled hero or heroine… if you have any favorites let me know in the comments!

Thanks to InterMix and NetGalley for providing a review copy.

