The Reading Year Ahead – 2016

Happy New Year!  I don’t do resolutions – I think that if there’s something you want to change in your life you should do it no matter what the calendar says.  But reading resolutions?  Those I like.  I’m going to read no matter what, so I may as well take a look at what’s going in my brain!

I’ve decided on a few changes compared with years past.

First – I’m determined to read more books by people of color.  I got better towards the end of 2015 but there’s a long way to go.

Second – I’m not going to keep track of or worry about author gender.  I read many more women than men – this is not a problem.

Third… actually, I think that’s it.  So!  What does it all boil down to?  I’m glad you asked:

Goals a la 2016

  • Have at least 20% of my reading be by an author who is a person of color or otherwise diverse (LGBTQ, people with disabilities, ethnic/religious minorities, etc.)
  • Read from more library categories than last year
  • Add at least ten titles to my ongoing Dewey list
  • Add at least five titles to my ongoing 20th Century list
  • Read at least one more book than last year

Library categories: The e-library lists genres or “subjects” for each book and I collect them as I read through the year.  I had 31 in 2014 and 33 so far in 2015, split basically evenly between fiction and non-fiction categories.

Dewey list: It’ll probably take my whole life, but I’m trying to read a non-fiction book for each Dewey Decimal number.  Currently I have 30 out of 99 divisions (groups of ten numbers) and 61 out of 908 individual sections.

20th Century list: Like the Dewey list, but for each year of the century.  I’ve read 41 out of the 100 so far.

Clear as mud?  There’s a lot of “at least”s but these are a bare minimum.  Especially the diversity… 20% feels low, so I’m hoping I can blow that number out of the water.  I’m also looking at a couple of reading challenges but haven’t settled on any particular one just yet.

What do you have planned for this year?

